Women of Weed Street Call for Action After ‘Meatgate’ Incident

image

“Lorna Shannon, founder of Women of Weed Street, told me she feels their apology falls short of taking accountability for how bad they messed up, and that only time will tell if they are going to do better or if this apology is just sweeping it under the rug. Shannon states:

I was not in Vegas for the MJBiz conference, but most of my friends were. When I saw the image of the meat clad model on multiple social media outlets and learned of its context from other women in the industry who were very upset by it, I was instantly triggered from what feels like a lifetime of sexual abuse, assault, objectification and harassment, simply for being a woman. I was appalled. Sunday night I received a phone call from a close friend who attended the Altai party and had returned to Colorado shaken and disturbed by her experience which seemed to normalize the overt exploitation of women.

I decided to organize a live streamed Google Hangout with the powerhouse women I know in the industry and people who can shed a light and share their experiences of sexism and misogyny in and outside of the Cannabis realm.

Women of Weed Street is a coalition that was built on the need for safe space for women to organize without being subjected to sexual harassment and objectification at our own political meetings. This situation strikes right to the core of the work I engage in as an activist. Right now my friends and I are being harassed by men who don’t understand why this is a problem. I feel that what happened in Vegas mirrors the presidential election in a lot of ways. Tonight’s discussion is going to be highly educational as to why this was a problem and why Altai’s apology doesn’t even come close to cutting it.”

Read Bradley Allen’s full article:

Woman Used As Salami Tray at Altai Brands Event in Las Vegas

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

